Who am I?

Posted on April 15, 2006

4


who am i

Mass Consumption

The American MO (Mode of Operation)

The American Dream

Capitalism at its best

So tightly we grip the things that we possess. Why? Because they define who we are.

Hmmm. Defined by a sign, a symbol, things, possessions, riches . . .

But who am I?

Who am I?

Who am I?

Who am I?

WHO AM I?????

Am I defined by what I possess?

What if I lose those things? What if they rust, or decay, or become obsolete, or out of style? What about me then? Who am I?

What if I let go of all that I cling to? What if I open my clenched fist? And let go of all that I use to define me. Who am I then?

“If I loose my grip . . . will I take flight?” (Asks Bruce Cockburn in his song Strange Waters).

But then, who is the “I” that might take flight?

Am I defined by my environment? By the noise? By the busyness? All those errands? All those things I have to accomplish?

What if I stepped out of it?

What if I found a place that was . . . hmmm . . . quiet . . .?

Whoa! Then what?

What if I loose my grip and let all of those things that I hang on to . . . fly away?

What if I sat in the quiet, hands empty, hands open, with nothing but me?

Face to face

with me

What would that be like?

Would I recognize the man in the mirror?

“The people in the advertising industry know very well that in order to sell things that people don’t really need, they must convince them that those things will add something to how they see themselves or are seen by others; in other words, add something to their sense of self . . ..

“Ego-identification with things creates attachment to things, obsession with things, which in turn creates our consumer society and economic structures where the only measure of progress is always more. The unchecked striving for more, for endless growth, is a dysfunction and a disease. It is the same dysfunction the cancerous cell manifests, whose only goal is to multiply itself, unaware that it is bringing about its own destruction by destroying the organism of which it is a part.”

~ Eckhart Tolle

