on complacency

Posted on April 26, 2006

1


complacency

Complacency

Stagnation

These are strong human tendencies

Because these are the way of systems.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The universe is an intricate, endless web of systems.

All of nature is an intricate, endless web of systems.

The human body is an intricate, endless web of systems.

And the human mind is an intricate, endless web of systems; intertwined with the human spirit.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

If a system becomes closed, it becomes stagnant;

like a stagnant pond with no fresh water coming in.

This applies to all systems; whether a pond, an organization, my arm, or my mind.

How do I fight complacency?

Through doing more and more and more

. . . OR by being? . . . by observing? . . . by listening? . . . by awareness? . . . by awakening?

Complacency comes from a closed mind.

A clased mind becomes stagnant.

How do I open my mind?

Through CONTEMPLATION

Through thinking

Through meditating

Through prayer

Do I bother to think about (observe) what I beleve?

Better yet, do I ever consider why I believe what I believe?

Do I ever think about (observe) what I think about?

Do I ever consider why I think about what I think about?

Do I ever think about (observe) what I feel?

Do I ever consider why I feel what I feel?

Who is this unique creature I call “me”?

How can I take a stand without knowing the “I” that might take a stand???

How can I make a difference without knowing the “I” that would make that difference???

“Have you ever sat very quietly without any movement? You try it, sit really still, with your back straight, and observe what your mind is doing. Don’t try to control it, don’t say it should not jump from one thought to another, from one intererest to another, but just be aware of how your mind is jumping. Don’t do anything about it, but watch it as from the banks of a river you watch the water flow by. In the flowing river there are so many things–fishes, leaves, dead animals–but it is always living, moving, and your mind is like that. It is everlastingly restless, flitting from one thing to another like a butterfly.” (Krishnamurti, “Think on These Things”, pg. 35)

