tears of a man

Posted on November 19, 2008

3


tears1

“There is a sacredness in tears. They are not the mark of weakness but of power. They are messengers of overwhelming grief and of unspeakable love.” ~ Washington Irving

Tears are in my genes. Life with its toughness, its roughness, has taught me this, over and over. Tears are a part of who I am, almost daily. I inherited them from two very caring, compassionate parents to whom I am grateful.

I’ve long since thrown out that masculine mask that is supposed to hide a man’s tears. The effort became exhausting and ineffective. I’ve set my soul free to feel . . . deeply. I choose my own humanity. I choose authenticity.

What are these waves of emotion that at times so completely overwhelm me . . . spilling out tears from my eyes . . .

~ filling my ears as I lay staring at the ceiling?

~ staining my shirt as I sit staring at the wall?

At times, they are tears of a broken heart, the brokenness that is part of the stuff of this life.

At times, they are tears of sadness as I watch my dreams being dashed against the rocks of life’s shore.

At times, they are tears of intense pain from the wounds inflicted by those deeply loved.

At times, they are tears of remorse for the pain I’ve inadvertently caused others.

At times, they are tears of loss as I let go of those that have gone away; never to return.

But mostly, they are tears of compassion and hope

~ for my children, my precious, priceless gifts from God . . . themselves full of compassion and hope.

~ for the children of this world; hungry, homeless, hurting, hopeless . . ..

~ for justice, equity, choice, opportunity, life, and love for all.

Love hurts . . . a destiny embraced.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

P.S.

Don’t worry about me…

I’m the one that cries at, yes,

Hallmark commercials,

Disney cartoons,

Exteme Makeover: Home Edition,

Barak Obama’s speeches,

And all kinds of songs about love.

…my kids are used to it.

