the god of comfort

Posted on March 11, 2009

9


“People wish to be settled.

Only as far as they are unsettled

is there any hope for them.”

~ Emerson

“The lust for comfort murders the passion of the soul, and then walks grinning in the funeral.”
~ Kahlil Gibran

I believe our culture worships the god of comfort, or maybe a better word is comfortableness. How many people do you know that avoid pain or confrontation at all costs? The road most traveled in our society is the easy road. We bury our consciousness (or lack of) in mesmerizing television . . . we numb our hearts and minds.

Lets worship the god of comfort:

Let us watch the news without questioning.

Let us listen to music that makes us feel good . . . comfortable, not music that stirs us.

Let us read “feel good” books.

May we not question our traditions.uncomfortable

Don’t make waves.

May we not think.

Because who wants the struggle, anyway?

It is easier if we just look the other way.

So much easier to smile and nod and go on our way.

Hmmm. If I’m careful, I may not have to feel much of anything.

If I can avoid thinking, then I’ll be less aware. Then I’ll be less responsible.

The way of numbness and comforableness is such an easy road . . .

. . . until life hits with all of its fury. Leaving us shattered and shocked . . . wondering what happened.

I’ve chosen the road less traveled. I choose growth through increasing my awareness and consciousness.

May I face the pain of life.

May I feel the sorrow of others.

May I hurt with those in pain.

May I face the storms of life.

May I see deeper into the shadows of life.

May I understand . . . or at least struggle to understand

May I learn to think deeply of life and death, joy and pain, love and hate.

May I learn to question everything.

May I open my  ears to wisdom, when she wispers in my ear.

The road is not easy.

But may I face all of life . . . lest I miss it.

When the storms come, and they will, may I have the strength and courage to face the fury . . . and learn; grasping it until wisdom imparts her lessons, then letting go and moving on.

When the joys come, and they will, may I be fully aware and conscious . . . breathing deeply of their sweet aroma; embracing them until wisdom imparts her blessings, then letting go and moving on.

Moving on with open hands, open heart, and open mind.

(written April 20, 2006)

“Comfort is one thing, and truth another; they lead away from each other. If you seek comfort, you may find it in an explanation, a drug or a belief; but it will be temporary, and sooner or later you will have to begin over again. And is there such a thing as comfort? It may be that you will first have to see this fact: that a mind which seeks comfort, security, will always be in sorrow. A satisfactory explanation, or a comforting belief, can put you soothingly to sleep; but is that what you want? Will that wipe away your sorrow? Is sorrow to be got rid of by inducing sleep?” – Krishnamurti, Commentaries On Living, Series III, Chapter 13

