Living with the Open Hands of Simplicity

Posted on December 15, 2013

1


SIMPLICITY (sustainability and stewardship)

What is my response to these queries?
What is my response to Black Friday? What is my response to the extreme consumption of our society? What is my response to materialism? What is my response to career advancement? What my response (and attachment) to money and possessions? What is my response to the destruction of the resources of the earth? What is my response to environmental issues?

  • Is my life/work a reflection of what is most important in life?
  • Am I using my “resources, including money and time, deliberately in ways that are most likely to make life truly better for oneself and others”
  • What am I doing on a daily basis to reduce my “footprint” on the earth so I can leave it unharmed for later generations?
  • Am I “more concerned with one’s inner condition than one’s outward appearance and with other people more than oneself” (Quaker Testimony of Simplicity, Wikipedia)
  • Do I make enough money for my basic needs? If I make more, why do I make more? And what do I do with it?
Tagged: ,